Selected Websites
- Awsome Library Awesome Library organizes the Web with 35,000 carefully reviewed resources in education. Consult the Health and PE section for links to lesson plan sites.
- Communities and Schools Promoting Health
This gateway website provides access to many resources in school health promotion as well as being home for the Canadian School Health Centre and the Canadian School Health NGO Network. - Games Kids Play A library of playing instructions for more than 50 of the most popular kids games plus a set of links to information on over 250 other games.
- Human Kinetics Publisher Important publisher of sports, coaching and physical education books and journals.
- P.E. Central
PE Central is the premier Web site for health and physical education teachers, parents, and students. - Physical Education Online Alberta Learning has recently updated and expanded the Physical Education Online site. Includes teaching tools (information and templates related to the general outcome icons), warm-ups, lesson plan templates, and teaching resources.
- Public Health Agency of Canada - Physical Activity Guide The Guide provides physical activities It also lists the many benefits of physical activityand the health risks of inactivity.
- Scholarly Sports Sites This Web directory from the University of Calgary, lists interesting websites related to sports science and includes several sites related to physical education.
- Activ8 activ8, for Kindergarten to Grade 8 students, is a national, curriculum-based, physical activity challenge program that helps children and youth of all abilities develop their fitness and skill levels.
Find articles and other resources
- Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions, it includes full text of journals, magazines, and newspapers. It is the world’s largest scholarly, multidisciplinary full text database. - ERIC
The Educational Resources Information Center contains over 700,000 citations covering research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials in the field of education. - SPORTDiscus Indexes periodicals, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations and theses, and audiovisual material. Includes material related to sport sciences; biomechanics; individual and team sports; physical education, training and coaching.
- Wilson Education Fulltext
Database that indexes and abstracts articles from English-language periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere. English-language books relating to education published in 1995 or later are also indexed. - Physical Education Index
Bibliographic database of peer-reviewed journals, report literature, conference proceedings, trade magazines, patents, articles from the popular press, and many other publications.
Associations & Societies
- American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance Largest organization of professionals supporting and assisting those involved in physical education, leisure, fitness, dance, health promotion, and education and all specialties related to achieving a healthy lifestyle.
- Canadian Association for Health,Physical Education, Recreation and Dance National, charitable, voluntary-sector organization whose primary concern is to influence the healthy development of children and youth by advocating for quality, school-based physical and health education.
- Canadian School Sports Federation (CSSF) The CSSF member associations and schools promote and advocate for positive sportsmanship, citizenship and the total development of student athletes through interscholastic sport.
- Ontario Physical and Health Education Association (OPHEA) Ophea (Ontario Physical and Health Education Association) is a not-for-profit organization dedicated to supporting school communities through advocacy, quality programs and services, and partnership building.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait