Last Updated: Sep 23, 2014
Contact me to set an appointment (see contact information on the right) for help with chemistry research tools. I also offer seminars to large classes of graduate and undergraduate students.
Save time and improve your skills!
Attend a hands-on workshop designed exclusively for graduate students. Register today, space is limited.
For complete information, consult MyUOResearch - Science and Engineering
This chemistry research guide is your gateway to the most relevant research materials you need. Research tools are arranged by category and can be accessed by selecting from the tabs above.
A series of hands-on workshops specifically designed for undergraduate students and novice searchers.
Current topics include:
- Introduction to Searching
- Managing References and Preparing Bibliographies
- Social Media for Research
Space is limited so register early!
For more information, consult #BiblioExpert - Workshops at Morisset Library
- Engineering Case Studies Online
Online collection offering 250 hours of video and 50,000 pages of text resources which provides in-depth, impartial analysis of key engineering failures.
- Cambridge Structural Database (WebCSD)
The Cambridge Structural Database (CSD) contains bibliographic, chemical and crystallographic information for organic molecules and metal-organic compounds whose 3D structures have been determined using X-ray diffraction or neutron diffraction.
For additional software tools, please contact
Dr. Ilia Korobkov
, telephone: (613) 562-5800, ext. 1488.
- Inorganic Crystal Structure Database (ICSD)
ICSD is the world’s largest comprehensive database for inorganic crystal structures, including pure elements, minerals, metals, and intermetallic compounds. Original data is extracted from over 900 scientific journals. Each dataset contains the compound name, molecular formula, as well as space group, unit cell parameters, atomic coordinates and temperature factors.
- Catalysis from A to Z: A Concise Encyclopedia
- Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE): Chemistry
JoVE: Chemistry (established in February, 2013) focuses on the methodology within chemistry and chemical preparation across multidisciplinary fields. In addition, this section aims to incorporate the preparation, use and analysis of novel materials and structures.
- Royal Society of Chemistry Complete Ebook Collection
The entire RSC eBook Collection includes all the books published since 1968, and cover food science, physical, organic, environmental and analytical chemistry, materials and nanoscience, industry and pharma, and biosciences.