Search Help
Help guides for selected databases and sources
Print Sources
- Canadian Children's Book News Every issue includes news, book reviews, interviews with authors and illustrators, publisher and bookstore profiles and information on children book publishing in Canada.
LMX call #: 010.5 .C44 - Canadian Children's Literature "Bilingual refereed academic journal with the purpose of advancing knowledge and understanding of the texts produced for children in Canada in a range of media."
LMX Call #:028.162 .C35 - Children's Book Review Index
Children's Books Review Index (CBRI) provides access to reviews of children's books and periodicals. The Resource Centre has from vol. 21 (1995) to present. Published 3 times a year.
LMX Call #: 010.C52
Find Book Reviews and Articles (Databases)
Databases to find book reviews, critical essays as well as education articles related to children literature and about specific works.
- Academic Search Complete Multidisciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions, it includes full text of journals, magazines, and newspapers. It is the world’s largest scholarly, multidisciplinary full text database.
- Book Review Index Online Plus Reviews of books, periodicals, books on tape and electronic media representing a wide range of popular, academic and professional interests.
- Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) The CLCD contains reviews of children's books that are full-text searchable. Searchers can limit searches to fiction/non-fiction, age level, genre, and more, making this a great source for finding both children's stories and information books on a topic.
- ERIC The Educational Resources Information Center contains over 700,000 citations covering research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials in the field of education.
- Wilson Education Fulltext Database that indexes and abstracts articles from English-language periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere. English-language books relating to education published in 1995 or later are also indexed. Full-text coverage begins in 1996.
- MLA International Bibliography Coverage is worldwide and includes references to articles from over 3,500 journals. Subjects include literature, language, linguistics, humanities, and folklore.
- Open Directory Project: Children Literature Reviews Collection of links to book review sources on the Web
Find Book Reviews and Articles (Journals)
Journals to find book reviews and critical essays articles related to children literature and about specific works.
- ALAN Review
The journal contains articles on Young Adult literature and its teaching, interviews with authors, reports on publishing trends, current research on YA literature, a section of reviews of new books, and ALAN membership news. - Booklist Magazine
Booklist magazine delivers over 8,000 recommended-only reviews of books, audiobooks, reference sources, video, and DVD titles each year. - Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books provides "concise summaries and critical evaluations, this invaluable resource assists readers with questions regarding the ever-evolving children's literature field." - CM Magazine
CM Magazine includes book reviews, media reviews, news, and author profiles of interest to teachers, librarians, and parents. - Quill & Quire
Canadian book trade magazine that publishes critical reviews of new titles. There is an extensive children and young adult literature section. - The Horn Book
Short critical reviews of material published in the U.S. for children and adolescents - The Lion and the Unicorn
Available through Project Muse. "It's coverage includes the state of the publishing industry, regional authors, comparative studies of significant books and genres, new developments in theory, the art of illustration, the mass media, and popular culture." - The Looking Glass: New Perspectives on Children's Literature The Looking Glass: New Perspectives on Children's Literature is an electronic journal about children's literature.
- School Library Journal
Reviews of books, multimedia, and technology for children and teens.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait