Librarian's Choice
Captain Raptor and the Space Pirates - Kevin O'Malley and Patrick O'Brien
"Those pirates must be stopped!" Roars the president. But sir, what can we do? I'll tell you what we do. We call... Captain Raptor!"
In their second adventure, the intrepid Captain Raptor and the valiant crew of the ship "Megatooth" come to the rescue of the planet Jurassica, pillaged by a gang of evil mutant space pirates. The heroic Captain repeatedly escapes violent death, and brings the scurvy scalliwags to justice.
This prehistoric science-fiction adventure will satisfy dinosaur "connoisseurs" everywhere and will appeal to reluctant readers with its colorful action packed panels and the brief large print text.
(Age 5 to 9)
About the Graphic Novels & Comics Collection

The Faculty of Education Resource Centre has a growing bilingual collection of graphic novels appropriate for children and young adults. The collection is international in scope and includes all genres, from DC Comics to Manga and Anime.
This collection is being developed to reflect the growing interest for comics and graphic novels in schools.
Reading the Call Numbers
The graphic novels and the comic books are located in clearly identified section of the Resource Centre, next to the children literature collection.

Selected Websites
- The Beguiling Founded in 1987, The Beguiling has set a new standard in Canada for retailing comics and related culture. They offer a reader advisory service for schools and libraries.
- Comics in the Classroom
- Comics worth Reading Graphic novel, manga, and comic book recommendations, news, and reviews.
- Glossary of Anime and Manga Terms
- Graphic Novels This page contains links to useful web and print resources.
- National Association of Comic Arts Educators (NACAE)
- New York City Comic Museum (NYCCM)
- No Flying, No Tights
- Open Directory Project: Comics
- Using Graphic Novels in the Classroom: a Guide PDF document. Guide developed by Scholastics Canada.
- What Parents, Teens, Teachers and Librarians Want to Know about Graphic Novels
- Graphic Novels: Resources for Teachers The web site is designed to introduce librarians (as well as teachers and parents) to the rich, diverse offerings from today's comics book publishers, and to encourage the acquisition of graphic novels in libraries serving young adults.
Suggested Readings
Carter, J. B. (2007). Building literacy connections with graphic novels : page by page, panel by panel (th.). Urbana, Ill.: National Council of Teachers of English.
LMX GEN 428.4 .B83 2007
Cary, S. (2004). Going graphic : comics at work in the multilingual classroom (th.). Portsmouth, NH: Heinemann.
LMX GEN 428.0071 .C26 2004
Gravett, P. (2005). Graphic novels : everything you need to know (1st.). New York, NY: Collins Design : Distributed in the United States by HarperCollins Publishers.
LMX GEN 741.5 .G73 2005
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait