Associations & Societies
- Children's Literature Association (ChLA) Publishes two peer reviewed children literature journals, namely Children's Literature and the Children's Literature Association Quarterly
- The Children's Book Council Nonprofit trade association of publishers and packagers of trade books and related materials for children and young adults.
Authors and Illustrators
- Canadian Children's Book Centre's Online Directory of Authors, Illustrators The authors and illustrators listed in this directory are available for school or library visits.
- Open Directory Project: Children Literature Authors
This site includes an extensive list of Canadian authors
Canadian Children Literature Websites
- Library and Archives Canada's Children's Literature Service Established in 1975, the Children's Literature Service now offers more than 141,724 items of fiction and non-fiction published in French, English and in other languages. The collection is meant for children and youth 16 years of age and under.
- Canadian Children Book Centre "A national not-for-profit organization and registered charity, the Canadian Children’s Book Centre (CCBC) was founded in 1976 to promote, support and encourage the reading, writing and illustrating of Canadian books for children and teens.
- PIKA: Canadian Children's Literature Database The PIKA database provides a unique window on Canadian children's literature. Contained in the database are records for all children's books held in the National Library's Canadian Children's Literature Service Collection -- over 35 000 titles.
- The Magic Suitcase This Canadian website gives advice on selection of children literature for teaching in the content areas. It includes book reviews and you can order material online
Directories
- Children's Literature Web Guide From the University of Calgary
- Directory of links from the Children Literature (ChLA) Website Children's Literature Association (ChLA) of chilrend literature related websites.
- Open Directory Project: Children Literature
- Digital Librarian: a librarian's choice of the best of the Web Collection of links to websites pertaining to children's literature. Eclectic and fun.
Other Suggested Sites
- Carol Hurst's children literature site This is a collection of reviews, teaching ideas and collections of books and activities about particular subjects, curriculum areas, themes and professional topics.
- Internet Archives (Children's Library) The Internet Archive is a non-profit organizationthat was founded to build an Internet library, with the purpose of offering permanent access for researchers, historians, and scholars to historical collections that exist in digital format.
- Library of Congress'Children Literature Center
- SurLaLune Fairytales SurLaLune Fairy Tales features 47 annotated fairy tales, including their histories, similar tales across cultures, modern interpretations and over 1,500 illustrations.
- Teachers@Random There are biographies of authors, and teaching ideas for several novels. Novels are indexed by grade, theme, and curriculum subject.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait