Researching an author
You may want to consult both print and online resources when researching information about an author. Below you will find some of the many useful print biographical aids available at the University of Ottawa. Listed on the Book Reviews and Articles page you will find additional online sources to consult.
Reference
Hunt, P. (2004). International companion encyclopedia of children's literature (2nd.). London ; New York: Routledge.
LMX REF 809.89282 .I57 2004
Watson, V. (2001). The Cambridge guide to children's books in English (th.). Cambridge ; New York: Cambridge University Press.
LMX REF 820.9928203 .C355 2001
Find information on authors
Biographical souces are key sources for information on authors.
LION (Literature Online) is a good place to start.
Morisset has general biographical dictionaries online :
American national biography online
Oxford dictionary of national biography online
Biographical information is also found in books, use search the author you are researching as a subject and click on the appropriate subject sub-heading, eg Family, Interviews, Correspondence or Biography.
The Dictionary of Literary Biography which occupies several shelves in the reference collection at the Morisset Library combines criticism and biographical information on authors, poets and playwrights, often grouped as a theme.
Biographical Sources
Cech, J. (1983).
American writers for children, 1900-1960 (th.). Detroit, Mich.: Gale
Research Co.
MRT REF PN 451 .D53 V.22 1983
Estes, G. E.
(1985). American writers for children before 1900 (th.). Detroit, MI:
Gale Research Co.
MRT REF PN 451 .D53 V.42 1985
Estes, G. E.
(1986). American writers for children since 1960 : fiction \ edited by Glenn
E Estes (th.). Detroit, MI: Gale Research Co.
MRT REF PN 451 .D53 V.52 1986
Estes, G. E.
(1987). American writers for children since 1960 : poets, illustrators, and
nonfiction authors (th.). Detroit, Mich.: Gale Research Co.
MRT REF PN 451 .D53 V.61 1987
Gertridge, A.
(1994). Meet Canadian authors and illustrators : 50 creators of children's books
(th.). Richmond Hill, Ont.: Scholastic Canada.
LMX GEN 028.5 .G47 1994
Hettinga, D. R.
and Schmidt, G. D. (1996). British children's writers, 1914-1960 (th.).
Detroit, Mich.: Gale Research.
MRT REF PN 451 .D53 v.160 1996
Hunt, C. C.
(1996). British children's writers since 1960 First series (th.).
Detroit: Gale Research.
MRT REF PN 451 .D53 v.161 1996
Jones, R. E. and
Stott , Jon C. (2000). Canadian children's books :
a critical guide to authors and illustrators (th.). Don Mills, Ont.: Oxford
University Press.
LMX REF 028.5 .J66 2000
Khorana, M.
(1996). British children's writers, 1800-1880 (th.). Detroit, MI: Gale
Research.
MRT REF PN 451 .D53 v.163 1996
McElmeel, S. L.
(2000). 100 most popular picture authors and illustrators : biographical
sketches and bibliographies (th.). Englewood, Colo.: Libraries Unlimited.
Electronic Access
Zaidman, L. M.
(1994). British children's writers, 1880-1914 (th.). Detroit: Gale
Research.
MRT REF PN 451 .D53 v.141 1994
Authors and Illustrators
- Canadian Children's Book Centre's Online Directory of Authors, Illustrators The authors and illustrators listed in this directory are available for school or library visits.
- Open Directory Project: Children Literature Authors
This site includes an extensive list of Canadian authors
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait